

## FFIEC: Marshall Appointed to FFIEC State Liaison Committee, Allard and Pleger Re-Appointed

Apr 1, 2021

The Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council (FFIEC) today announced the appointment of Susannah Marshall to the FFIEC's State Liaison Committee (SLC). Marshall was designated by the Conference of State Bank Supervisors (CSBS) to serve on the SLC for a two-year term that begins today and continues through March 31, 2023.

Marshall has served as Commissioner of the Arkansas Bank Department since October 1, 2020. Marshall began her Bank Department career as Commercial Bank Examiner in 1995, and in 2003 was promoted to Financial Analyst. In 2005, Marshall was promoted to Financial Analyst Supervisor, and was appointed as Deputy Bank Commissioner in 2007. Marshall served as Deputy Bank Commissioner until her 2020 appointment to Bank Commissioner.

As Bank Commissioner, Marshall is responsible for the regulation, supervision and examination of Arkansas state-chartered banks, bank holding companies, a trust company, and a state-chartered non-profit organization. As of December 31, 2020, the agency supervised 75 state chartered commercial banks with total assets over \$126.6 billion.

Marshall has previously served on the Board of Directors for the CSBS and currently serves on various committees within the organization, including Vice-Chairman of a multistate, regional regulatory committee and a national committee of state and federal regulators.

Marshall earned a bachelor's degree in Accounting from Arkansas State University, Jonesboro, Arkansas, in 1995 and is a 2002 graduate of the Southwestern Graduate School of Banking, Dallas, Texas. During her tenure with the Bank Department, Marshall obtained the designations of Commissioned Senior Examiner and Certified Examination Manager.

The FFIEC also announced that the American Council of State Savings Supervisors (ACSSS) has reappointed Superintendent Kevin Allard, Ohio Division of Financial

Institutions, to the SLC for a first full two-year term; and the National Association of State Credit Union Supervisors (NASCUS) has reappointed Senior Deputy Commissioner Stephen Pleger, Georgia Department of Banking and Finance, for a second two-year term to the SLC. Allard and Pleger's two-year terms will expire on March 31, 2023.

The SLC is comprised of five members, and also includes:

- Tom Fite, Director, Indiana Department of Financial Institutions, selected by the Council; and
- Melanie Hall, Commissioner, Montana Division of Banking and Financial Institutions, selected by the Council.

The FFIEC was created by the federal Financial Institutions Regulatory and Interest Rate Control Act of 1978 to "prescribe uniform principles and standards for the federal examination of financial institutions" and "make recommendations to promote uniformity" in the supervision of financial institutions. It also conducts schools for examiners employed by the five federal member agencies represented on the FFIEC and makes those schools available to employees of state agencies that supervise financial institutions.

The FFIEC consists of the following six voting members: a member of the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System; the Chairman of the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation; the Director of the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau; the Comptroller of the Currency; the Chairman of the National Credit Union Administration; and the Chairman of the SLC.

The SLC consists of five representatives of state banking and credit union agencies that supervise financial institutions. Members are designated by the CSBS, ACSSS, NASCUS, and the FFIEC. An SLC member may have his or her two-year term extended by the appointing organization for an additional, two-year term.

## ###

The FFIEC was established in March 1979 to prescribe uniform principles, standards, and report forms and to promote uniformity in the supervision of financial institutions. It also conducts schools for examiners employed by the five federal member agencies represented on the FFIEC and makes those schools available to employees of state agencies that supervise financial institutions. The Council consists of the following six voting members: a member of the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System; the Chairman of the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation; the Director of the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau; the Comptroller of the Currency; the Chairman of the

National Credit Union Administration; and the Chairman of the State Liaison Committee.

## Media Contacts:

NCUA Joseph Adamoli (703) 518-6330

SLC Catherine Pickels (202) 728-5734

**Top Category** 

Statements & Comments

202.296.2840

newsroom@csbs.org

1129 20th Street, N.W., 9th Floor, Washington, DC 20036